top of page


Composer, Guitarist, Improviser, Sound Engineer

Dr. Monte Taylor (b.1991) is a composer, guitarist, improviser, and sound engineer based in West Lafayette, IN.


Taylor is the 2nd place recipient of the 2020 KLANG! International Electroacoustic Composition Competition and a finalist for the American Prize (2020 Orchestral Music Division).  His works have been presented on festivals including Australian Percussion Gathering, Charlotte New Music Festival, Cortona Online Sessions, Electric LaTex Festival, Electronic Music Midwest, Florida Electro-Acoustic Student Festival, Florida International Toy Piano Festival, Kansas City Art Institute’s ArtSounds, Indiana State University Contemporary Music Festival, Matera Intermedia Festival, Mid-America Theater Conference, Napoleon Electronic Media Festival, National Student Electronic Music Event, New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival, Purdue University Fusion Studio Symposium on Education in Entertainment and Engineering, SCI Regional and National Student Conferences, SEAMUS National Conference, Seoul International Computer Music Festival, SPLICE Institute, TUTTI Festival, UNK New Music Festival, USF New Music Festival, UTEMS Electro-Acoustic Recital Series, Web Audio Conference, and the Workshop on Computer Music and Technology, by ensembles including Bent Frequency, Compositum Musicae Novae, Frost Electronic Music Ensemble, Line Upon Line Percussion, Passepartout Duo, [Switch~ Ensemble], and the University of Texas New Music Ensemble.

As an improvisor, Taylor works primarily with the electric guitar, as well as live signal processing and generative electronics.  He has worked with Brian Horton, Anne Lanzilotti, Paul Rudy, Mark Southerland, The Tipping Point Ensemble, Unbound Ensemble, and the UMKC IMP Ensemble, and been featured on Subtropics Marathon, Miami Buskerfest, Stanford CCRMA Teleconcert, UTEMS Electro-Acousitc Recital Series, and International Workshop Struer.

Dr. Taylor is a Clinical Assistant Professor of Music Technology at Purdue University's Rueff School of Design, Art, and Performance.  He holds a B.M. in Composition from the University of Missouri - Kansas City Conservatory of Music and Dance, an M.M. in Composition from the University of Miami Frost School of Music, and a D.M.A in Composition at the University of Texas at Austin, where he was a staff member for the Experimental and Electronic Music Studios.  Primary teachers include Jason Thorpe Buchanan, Annie Gosfield, Dorothy Hindman, Zhou Long, Charles Norman Mason, Lansing McLoskey, James Mobberley, Januibe Tejera, Christopher Tripani, Paul Rudy, Chen Yi, and Nina C. Young.

Bio: Bio
bottom of page